Skip to content

Newsletter MCP Servers Compared: beehiiv, Kit, Mailchimp

By the newsletterapi team · Published · Updated · 6 min read

The problem: “I want my AI agent to work across my newsletter tools, but every platform's MCP is different or missing.”

Cover image: Newsletter MCP Servers Compared: beehiiv, Kit, Mailchimp

Short answer

As of October 2026, beehiiv, Kit and MailerLite run official hosted MCP servers with OAuth and read/write tools, with beehiiv and Kit gating writes or access to paid plans. Mailchimp's first-party MCP covers its transactional product, Ghost and Buttondown rely on community servers, and Substack's official MCP is read-only and limited to Bestseller admins.

In 2026 most newsletter platforms shipped a Model Context Protocol (MCP) server, so an AI assistant such as Claude or ChatGPT can read your list, draft an issue or pull a growth report. The servers differ a lot: some are official and hosted with OAuth, some are community projects you run yourself, and the plans that unlock them vary. This comparison uses each vendor's docs as read on October 21, 2026.

newsletterapi is an independent project focused on Substack writers, with no relationship to any vendor here. We make an MCP server for Substack writers.

The problem

You want an agent that can read your list, draft an issue and report on growth, and you want to know which newsletter platform will actually let it. The answer changed fast in 2026. On X one writer said: "beehiiv and Kit already have MCPs, so I’m glad to see Substack moving here too." (@waqapedia). Another expected more than shipped: "Despite historically being a closed platform without a public API, their CEO announced they are launching a read/write MCP." (@LetterlandLIVE). Substack's MCP launched read-only and Bestseller-only.

In our review of public Reddit, X, Hacker News and GitHub posts, October 2026, MCP came up in 38 X posts about Substack from 35 authors in 2026 (a keyword count, so an estimate), often comparing it with beehiiv's and Kit's. Writers notice the gap, as in "Can't believe Substack still doesn't have n MCP". Here is what each platform's MCP really allows. More reader problems are on /problems.

Which newsletter platforms have an official MCP server my agent can use?

Platform Official MCP Endpoint Auth Read / write Plan gating Human-only actions
beehiiv Yes, hosted mcp.beehiiv.com/mcp OAuth 2.1 Read on Free; read/write from Lite MCP must be on your plan and enabled Publishing, sending, activating automations
Kit Yes, hosted app.kit.com/mcp OAuth Read and write All paid plans Sends and deletes need explicit confirmation
MailerLite Yes, hosted mcp.mailerlite.com/mcp OAuth (sign-in) Read and write Not stated Not stated
Mailchimp Transactional (Mandrill) only, per a September 2026 review mandrillapp.com/mcp Not covered here Transactional tools — —
Ghost None found — Community servers use the Admin API key Varies Admin API from Publisher on Ghost(Pro) —
Buttondown None found — Community servers use the API key Varies — —
Substack Yes, hosted mcp.substack.com/api/v1/mcp OAuth Read-only Admins of Bestseller publications Cannot publish or send Notes

What can my agent do with the beehiiv MCP?

beehiiv's agents repository says all its plugins "point at the same hosted server at https://mcp.beehiiv.com/mcp." It uses OAuth 2.1 with no API key: the client registers itself, opens a browser for beehiiv sign-in, and each tool call is checked against your own beehiiv permissions. Supported clients include Claude, ChatGPT, Codex, Claude Code, Cursor, Grok Build and Gemini CLI.

Tool areas cover posts, audience, automations, analytics, growth, monetisation, podcasts and communities, plus documentation search. Two actions stay with you: "Publishing and sending stay human actions in beehiiv", and "Activating an automation stays a human action in the editor."

On beehiiv's pricing page, the MCP is read-only on the free plan and read/write from Lite. beehiiv's CEO reported more than 8 million tool calls on X in October 2026 (a self-reported figure).

What can my agent do with the Kit MCP?

Kit runs two servers. The Kit MCP at app.kit.com/mcp acts on a creator's account. It "authenticates via OAuth on behalf of the creator", is "available on all paid Kit plans", and allows 120 requests per minute per token. Its read tools cover subscribers, sequences, broadcasts, tags, segments and custom fields; its write tools create, update and tag subscribers and can compose, schedule and send broadcasts. Kit says "destructive or external actions (sending broadcasts, deleting data) always require explicit user confirmation."

The separate Kit Developer Docs MCP gives coding agents Kit's API reference and does not touch account data. Kit's docs also mark an older community kit-mcp-server package as deprecated now that first-party servers exist.

Is there an official Mailchimp MCP for my audience and campaigns?

Partly. A September 2026 review found Mailchimp's first-party MCP covers Mandrill, its transactional email product, at mandrillapp.com/mcp with 9 tools, and that the Marketing API (audiences, campaigns, automations, reports) "has no official server at all."

Mailchimp's developer site does point AI clients to an MCP endpoint at mailchimp.com/developer/_mcp/server; from that page alone we couldn't confirm whether it serves account data or documentation, so test it before relying on it. For marketing data, community servers exist, such as damientilman/mailchimp-mcp-server, which runs on your own Mailchimp API key, can send campaigns, and offers read-only and dry-run modes.

What can my agent do with the MailerLite MCP?

MailerLite documents an official MCP server at mcp.mailerlite.com/mcp over streamable HTTP, with setup steps for Claude, Claude Code, ChatGPT, Cursor, VS Code and Gemini CLI. You sign in when you connect. Tools span subscribers, campaigns, groups, segments, automations, forms, templates, e-commerce and webhooks. They include reads like get_subscriber and list_campaigns, writes like create_campaign, and actions like schedule_campaign. A dry_run_automation tool validates an automation without sending. The page does not state plan requirements.

Can I use an MCP with Ghost or Buttondown?

Neither has a first-party MCP server that we could find as of October 2026.

  • Ghost. Community servers wrap the Ghost Admin API. The most popular, MFYDev/ghost-mcp, manages posts, members, newsletters, tags, tiers, offers and webhooks through the Admin API, using an Admin API key. On Ghost(Pro) the Admin API starts on the Publisher plan; self-hosted Ghost has it built in. See newsletter platforms with an API for plan details.
  • Buttondown. A community server listed on Glama covers drafts, scheduling, analytics and list management using your Buttondown API key.

Community servers usually run locally (stdio) and are configured in Claude Desktop or Claude Code rather than added as a web connector. Read the code before giving one a key that can send email.

Why is Substack's MCP so limited?

Substack's official server is hosted and uses OAuth like beehiiv's and Kit's, but it is the most restricted: you must be an Admin of a Bestseller publication, it is read-only, and it "cannot publish posts, send Notes, or modify your account."

Outside that gate, Substack writers have:

Which newsletter MCP should I use?

You want an agent to… Best fit today
Draft posts, never send beehiiv (sending stays human)
Manage subscribers and tags Kit (paid plans), MailerLite
Send or schedule campaigns with confirmation Kit, MailerLite
Send transactional email Mailchimp Transactional (Mandrill)
Work with a self-hosted blog and members Ghost via a community server
Read Substack stats Substack's official MCP if you're a Bestseller admin; Publisher API wrapper if you have a key
Schedule Substack Notes Buffer's API and MCP

Whatever you pick, add hosted servers through your client's connector screen (Claude's custom connector guide warns to connect only servers you trust), start with read-only access, and keep the final send for yourself.

For Substack writers without a Bestseller badge, newsletterapi offers a read-only MCP server and a matching posts API that work from your publication URL and your own exports, with no password. To get access, email hello@newsletterapi.io.

Questions people ask

Is the beehiiv MCP free?
beehiiv's pricing page lists the MCP as read-only on the free plan and read/write from the Lite plan upward. Publishing, sending and activating automations stay human actions in beehiiv.
Does Kit have an official MCP server?
Yes. The Kit MCP at app.kit.com/mcp authenticates with OAuth and is available on all paid Kit plans. Kit also runs a separate developer-docs MCP that does not touch account data.
Is there an official Mailchimp MCP server?
For Mandrill, Mailchimp's transactional email product, yes. A September 2026 review found no first-party server for the Marketing API (audiences, campaigns), so those connections are community-built.
Which newsletter MCP lets an agent send email?
Kit's MCP can schedule and send broadcasts with explicit user confirmation, and MailerLite's MCP includes campaign scheduling tools. beehiiv keeps publishing and sending as human actions. Substack's official MCP cannot publish at all.
Do these MCP servers work in Claude?
The hosted ones (beehiiv, Kit, MailerLite, Substack) are added as remote connectors in Claude. Community servers for Ghost, Buttondown and Mailchimp usually run locally and are configured in Claude Desktop or Claude Code.

Sources

  1. beehiiv/agents (beehiiv MCP plugins and docs) (accessed 2026-10-21)
  2. beehiiv pricing (accessed 2026-10-21)
  3. beehiiv CEO on X: MCP tool calls (accessed 2026-10-21)
  4. Kit MCP (creator accounts) (accessed 2026-10-21)
  5. Kit Developer Docs MCP (accessed 2026-10-21)
  6. Growth Method: Mailchimp MCP server (September 2026) (accessed 2026-10-21)
  7. Mailchimp Marketing API (developer site) (accessed 2026-10-21)
  8. damientilman/mailchimp-mcp-server (accessed 2026-10-21)
  9. MailerLite MCP server (accessed 2026-10-21)
  10. MFYDev/ghost-mcp (accessed 2026-10-21)
  11. Glama listing: Buttondown MCP server (accessed 2026-10-21)
  12. Substack help: How to connect Substack to your AI Assistant (accessed 2026-10-21)
  13. dkships/substack-publisher-mcp (accessed 2026-10-21)
  14. Buffer help: Using Substack with Buffer (accessed 2026-10-21)
  15. Claude help: Get started with custom connectors using remote MCP (accessed 2026-10-21)
  16. @waqapedia on X: beehiiv and Kit already have MCPs (accessed 2026-10-21)
  17. @LetterlandLIVE on X: Substack MCP announcement (accessed 2026-10-21)
  18. @_MsLinda on X: no Substack MCP (accessed 2026-10-21)